Making A Name

Posted: October 15, 2012 in writing

As a self-published author, it is a lot of work trying to make a name for yourself. That is unless you have the financial resorces to help easy the way. What I ment by that is – if you have the cash – you can get a good marketing service/ marketer, pay for professional cover designs, professional level editing, so on and so forth.

I for one, do not have such financial resorces. Having started on my journey as a self-published author back in 2011, have learned a lot, but still have a lot to learn. I take the title of ‘self-published’ to the fullest, doing everything myself outside of editing. My editor is not a professional, but is good at what they do, and at the price I pay can’t be beat. As for marketing I’m still looking for the best approach, trying every thing that has the price tag of free: twitter, blogs, Facebook, G+, every reading/ writing group I can find. Have I been sucessful? I have sold some books, so I would say, yes. Am I a huge hit? No, like I said it’s hard to make a name for yourself.

The stories I write are one hundred percent original. I had read somewhere that for a self-published author tryin to get their name known, they need to write what is currently the hot topic. Now that might be true, but I want to write my own story, even if it is ‘different’. I have a bunch of great stories that I want to tell, and non of them have 50 shades of grey, they are all sorts of colors.

That’s all I have for now, I got to get back to work.

Comments
  1. Zen A. says:

    I’ve read the same thing as regards the hot topic, but I don’t care much for it either. I want to write what I like. =] Good luck with your work!

    • J A Cunningham says:

      It’s nice to hear someone else agree with me in regards to the hot topic. I was in a discussion with a few other authors that told me, I will not make the big bucks if I don’t write something based on what is currently selling. I’m not after the big bucks, I write because I love writing, and want to share my stories with the world.

      Thanks for your comment, and good luck with your writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

