Archive for the ‘Flash Fiction’ Category

Her long blond hair, waved wildly in the cool spring breeze; her torn and battered clothing waved just the same. Licking her lips, her dark crimson colored lipstick glistened in the sun.

As she continued to stare at the flowing meadow before her, her pupils slowly relaxed letting her emerald green corneas show. The colors around her became vivid, as her sight went from a dull greyscale, to a full color spectrum.

Standing there for what seemed like an eternity three things weighed heavy on her mind: how did she get here, and the more she thought about it, she didn’t know who, or what she was.


This collection began as a Halloween flash fiction writing contest on Facebook, sponsored by Sharon Van Orman. This is not one person’s achievement, but a collective of people from around the block and around the world. Enjoy these spooky bits, for they are what makes Halloween special!

“Hal L. O’ween” is the pen-name of a group of writers from around the world that have joined together to ‘scare your pants off!’

Each ‘Halloween Horror Flash Fiction Contest’ story, sponsored on Facebook by Sharon Van Orman, was approved and contributed to this anthology for your ‘enjoyment’.

The individual authors retain ALL the rights to these stories.

Many thanks go to the following writers—without their involvement, this collection wouldn’t have been possible:

Devin Berglund, Brian Bigelow, Melissa Blume, Carol Bond, Michelle Patricia Browne, Jaleta Clegg, Richard Cotton, Russell Cruse, J. A. Cunningham, Toy Davis, Bella Doerres, Debra Elliott, Jiva Fang, Paul Freeman, Joseph Alan Gharagheer, Pamela Griffiths, Erik Gustafson, Denise Hemphill, Bruce Hesselbach, Rob Holliday, Katrina Jack, Gerald D. Johnston, Mel L. Kinder, Merita King, Pamela K. Kinney, Neil Leckman, Tracy Lesch, Rosemary Lynch, Ellen McKinney, Wolfen Lee McKoy, Shannon Marie Mead, Jason Mueller and C. L. Foster, Matthew Christopher Nelson, Sharon Van Orman, Patrick Ottuso, Cheryl C. Ramirez, Martin Reaves, Katherine Rochholz, Kincaid Savoie, Adam Sifre and Splinker, Gretchen Steen, Michael L. Turner, Rahima Warren, Richard A. Wentworth, Lisa Williamson, Sherill Willis, Stephen L. Wilson, Kay D. Ziegler.

We are “Hal L. O’ween”

Last Travels

Posted: October 14, 2012 in Flash Fiction, writing

Just added a new flash fiction story to my ever growing list.

Last Travels.


Check out all the great stories in this Halloween themed flash fiction contest.

Mine is #B12 no comments or voting until Monday.